Yanks' Torres Gets Negative MRI On Hamstring; Boone Hopeful

Manager Aaron Boone had said the Yankees would be cautious with Torres regardless of the MRI results.


NEW YORK (AP) — An MRI of Gleyber Torres‘ achy right hamstring has come back negative, a day after the New York Yankees star second baseman fell awkwardly fielding a ground ball.

The Yankees announced the MRI results about 15 minutes before they played the Toronto Blue Jays on Saturday. He was not in the lineup, although manager Aaron Boone said Torres was feeling good.

Boone had said the Yankees would be cautious with Torres regardless of the MRI results. The AL East champions play seven more games before opening their postseason Oct. 4.

Torres slipped after backhanding a grounder Friday night, prompting an audible gasp from the Yankee Stadium crowd. He was pulled later and felt weakness in his lower legs.

The 22-year-old Torres leads the team with 38 homers and is hitting .284 with 90 RBIs and an .889 OPS.

(© Copyright 2019 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

 

You might also like

Today
October 17, 2019 Thursday
October 16, 2019 Wednesday
October 15, 2019 Tuesday
October 14, 2019 Monday
October 13, 2019 Sunday
October 12, 2019 Saturday
October 11, 2019 Friday
October 10, 2019 Thursday
October 9, 2019 Wednesday
October 8, 2019 Tuesday
October 7, 2019 Monday
October 6, 2019 Sunday
October 5, 2019 Saturday
October 4, 2019 Friday
October 3, 2019 Thursday
October 2, 2019 Wednesday
October 1, 2019 Tuesday
Show More