Yankees' Tanaka Throw 26 Pitches In First Bullpen Session Since Being Placed On DL

Tanaka, sidelined since getting hurt June 8 while running the bases in a game, threw before Sunday's game at Tampa Bay.


Tanaka, sidelined since getting hurt June 8 while running the bases in a game, threw before Sunday’s game at Tampa Bay.

“I was kind of being a little bit cautious about it,” Tanaka said through a translator. “But it turned out that I didn’t feel anything.”

Yankees manager Aaron Boone said Tanaka will throw off a mound again Tuesday at New York’s spring training complex in Tampa. That lines Tanaka up to pitch in a simulated game Friday.

“Went well,” Boone said. “Encouraging sign. It looks like he’s doing well.”

Tanaka is 7-2 with a 4.58 ERA in 13 starts.

“The arm strength is still there,” Tanaka said. “Was able to really throw with some force on it.”

Tanaka could rejoin the Yankees, who have the majors’ best record, before the All-Star break next month.

(© Copyright 2018 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

 

You might also like

October 22, 2019 Tuesday
October 21, 2019 Monday
October 20, 2019 Sunday
October 19, 2019 Saturday
October 18, 2019 Friday
October 17, 2019 Thursday
October 16, 2019 Wednesday
October 15, 2019 Tuesday
October 14, 2019 Monday
October 13, 2019 Sunday
October 12, 2019 Saturday
October 11, 2019 Friday
October 10, 2019 Thursday
October 9, 2019 Wednesday
Show More