Yankees Spring Training: Sanchez Could Return By Friday, Paxton To Start Throwing Soon

New York Yankees catcher Gary Sánchez could be back in the lineup Friday if his sore back keeps improving.


CLEARWATER, Fla. (CBSNewYork/AP)New York Yankees catcher Gary Sánchez could be back in the lineup Friday if his sore back keeps improving.

Sánchez played consecutive games for the first time this year on Thursday and Friday, then felt sore Saturday and hasn’t played since.

“I’m not real concerned about it,” Yankees manager Aaron Boone said Monday. “He’s doing better today.”

MOREYankees’ Judge Has Broken Rib, No Set Time On Return To Lineup

New York said left-hander James Paxton plans to start a throwing program on Wednesday as he works to return from a back injury that is expected to keep out until May or June. Dr. Andrew Dossett in Dallas performed a microscopic lumbar discectomy Feb. 5 in which a herniated disk was repaired and a peridiscal cyst was removed.

Boone said Sánchez would have played Monday had this been during the season. Sánchez will get a layoff for much of this week while the Yankees play on Florida’s east coast on Wednesday and Thursday.

Sánchez took part in catching drills Monday but did not resume batting practice. He is expected to hit on Tuesday and face pitching Thursday.

(© Copyright 2020 CBS Broadcasting Inc. All Rights Reserved. The Associated Press contributed to this report.)

 

You might also like

March 26, 2020 Thursday
March 25, 2020 Wednesday
March 24, 2020 Tuesday
March 23, 2020 Monday
March 22, 2020 Sunday
March 20, 2020 Friday
March 19, 2020 Thursday
March 18, 2020 Wednesday
March 17, 2020 Tuesday
March 16, 2020 Monday
March 15, 2020 Sunday
March 13, 2020 Friday
March 12, 2020 Thursday
March 11, 2020 Wednesday
March 10, 2020 Tuesday
March 9, 2020 Monday
March 8, 2020 Sunday
March 7, 2020 Saturday
March 6, 2020 Friday
Show More