Yankees Spring Training: All Eyes On Cole As Pitchers And Catchers Report

As usual around this time of year, hopes and expectations are sky high for the Yankees.


TAMPA, Fla. (CBSNewYork) — As usual around this time of year, hopes and expectations are sky high for the Yankees.

And they should be considering the Bombers are coming off an AL Championship Series appearance and in the offseason adding arguably the best starting pitcher in the sport in Gerrit Cole.

Pitchers and catchers reported to spring training on Wednesday, and all eyes were understandably on Cole, who signed a nine-year, $324 million contract in free agency, bolstering a Yankees rotation that was sorely in need of an ace and at the same time weakening his former team, the powerhouse Houston Astros.

The hard-throwing right-hander immediately settled in, throwing BBs during his bullpen session and acclimating with his new coaches and teammates. Needless to say, it looked like class was in session, CBS2’s Otis Livingston reported.

:

Cole is expected to talk to reporters on Thursday, but manager Aaron Boone already seems smitten.

“We’re just really excited to have him, and it’s exciting to see him come in here and know that this is absolutely the place he wants to be. It feels like a little bit of destiny, him finally getting here,” Boone said.

MOREYankees Lefty Paxton Has Back Surgery, To Miss 3-4 Months

But the dominant topic during the manager’s first press conference of spring training was the Astros, who Major League Baseball found guilty of stealing signs during their 2017 World Series-championship season. The Astros beat the Yankees in seven games in the ALCS that year. Boone wasn’t the manager, but was last October when Jose Altuve refused to have his shirt removed after his series-winning home run off Bombers closer Aroldis Chapman. Boone said he isn’t convinced Houston players weren’t wearing some type of electronic device to relay signs during that series.

“One of the great unknowns, and I spent time, as I’m sure a lot of people have been, wondering about what, potentially, could be going on and we’ll probably never know for sure, frankly,” Boone said.

Boone said he has no problem with his players addressing the topic now, but wants them to start focusing on the 2020 season. Spanish-speaking catcher Gary Sanchez had an interesting response when Livingston asked him his feelings on the subject during the offseason.

A translator wasn’t really necessary.

“Wow,” Sanchez said. “I mean, wow!”

Sanchez also had a funny response when he was asked about Altuve telling his teammates not to rip off his jersey, saying, “If I hit a homer and get my team to the World Series, they can rip off my pants. They can rip everything off.”

 

You might also like

April 4, 2020 Saturday
April 2, 2020 Thursday
April 1, 2020 Wednesday
March 29, 2020 Sunday
March 27, 2020 Friday
March 26, 2020 Thursday
March 25, 2020 Wednesday
March 24, 2020 Tuesday
March 23, 2020 Monday
March 22, 2020 Sunday
March 20, 2020 Friday
March 19, 2020 Thursday
March 18, 2020 Wednesday
March 17, 2020 Tuesday
March 16, 2020 Monday
March 15, 2020 Sunday
March 13, 2020 Friday
March 12, 2020 Thursday
March 11, 2020 Wednesday
March 10, 2020 Tuesday
March 9, 2020 Monday
March 8, 2020 Sunday
Show More