Yankees Set Club Record For HRs In A Season, Clobber Red Sox

The Yankees won for the fourth time in five games and improved to 94-50, keeping pace with Houston for the top record in the majors.


The Yankees won for the fourth time in five games and improved to 94-50, keeping pace with Houston for the top record in the majors. New York also moved a step closer to claiming the AL East with another victory over the rival Red Sox, whose string of three straight division titles is coming to an end.

The Yankees entered the game two homers shy of the club record of 267, set last year. Torres’ two-run shot in the second was No. 266, Tauchman went deep with a man on in the fourth and Judge added the record-breaker by leading off the fifth with his 21st of the season.

Torres went 3 for 5 with four RBIs. His 35th homer moved him one ahead of Gary Sánchez for the club lead.

Jackie Bradley Jr. and Mookie Betts homered for the Red Sox, who lost for the third time in four games. Boston fell eight games behind Oakland for the second AL wild-card spot with only 19 games remaining.

Chad Green (3-4) pitched three perfect innings of relief for New York and got the victory. Rick Porcello (12-12) lasted just four innings for Boston, which used eight pitchers before it was finally over.

(© Copyright 2019 CBS Broadcasting Inc. All Rights Reserved. The Associated Press contributed to this report.)

 

You might also like

September 21, 2019 Saturday
September 20, 2019 Friday
September 19, 2019 Thursday
September 18, 2019 Wednesday
September 17, 2019 Tuesday
September 16, 2019 Monday
September 15, 2019 Sunday
September 14, 2019 Saturday
September 13, 2019 Friday
September 12, 2019 Thursday
September 11, 2019 Wednesday
Show More