Yankees Ride Gleyber's Slam To Series Opening Win Over Red Sox

New York earned its major league-leading 35th comeback win and improved to 23-21 when its opponent scores first.


NEW YORK (CBSNewYork/AP) — Gleyber Torres hit a first-inning grand slam, left-hander James Paxton cruised after that and the New York Yankees three-hit the Boston Red Sox in a 4-2 victory Friday night.

Boston has lost five straight for the first time since 2015 and dropped 11 1/2 games behind first-place New York in the AL East.

Red Sox slugger J.D. Martinez hit a two-run homer during yet another rocky first inning by Paxton, but Torres bailed him out with his slam off Eduardo Rodriguez (13-5). Paxton (6-6) struck out the side in the second and completed six innings on 100 pitches, allowing two hits and two runs with six strikeouts.

New York earned its major league-leading 35th comeback win and improved to 23-21 when its opponent scores first. The Yankees are the only team in baseball with a winning record in such games.

Torres turned on a fastball off the plate inside and lined it out for his slam. That came after Rodriguez allowed DJ LeMahieu’s leadoff single and walks to Aaron Judge and Edwin Encarnación. Torres has 21 homers this season.


September 19, 2019 Thursday
September 18, 2019 Wednesday
September 17, 2019 Tuesday
September 16, 2019 Monday
September 15, 2019 Sunday
September 14, 2019 Saturday
September 13, 2019 Friday
September 12, 2019 Thursday
September 11, 2019 Wednesday
September 10, 2019 Tuesday
September 9, 2019 Monday
Show More