Yankees Pick New Jersey Shortstop In MLB Draft's First Round

Many baseball fans in the Tri-state area dream of growing up and playing for the Yankees. On Monday, that dream came true for New Jersey teen Anthony Volpe.


The 18-year-old was selected by New York with the 30th overall pick in Major League Baseball’s first-year player draft. Volpe is a shortstop who has excelled at Morristown’s Delbarton School.

The standout infielder has already committed to play college ball at Vanderbilt University, something the Yankees are hoping he’ll reconsider by selecting the local talent in the prestigious first round. The value of being selected 30th overall is estimated to be worth up to $2.3 million in signing bonus money if Volpe chooses the Yankees over college.

Eight picks later, New York received another selection in the MLB compensation round, thanks to the Sonny Gray trade this winter. They used it on Missouri left-hander T.J Sikkema.

The 20-year-old is widely viewed as a potential closer or late-inning reliever, but still has the talent to make a starting rotation if the Yankees decide to use him there instead.

Missouri is becoming a powerhouse for producing high-end pitchers in the draft like, most notably, Cy Young-winner Max Scherzer.

The Yankees finished up Day 1 by taking 21-year-old Josh Smith from LSU in the second round.

Scouts say the second baseman was the Tigers’ best hitter, making constant contact and whose powerful lefty swing will likely make him a home run threat in the Bronx.

 

You might also like

October 21, 2019 Monday
October 20, 2019 Sunday
October 19, 2019 Saturday
October 18, 2019 Friday
October 17, 2019 Thursday
October 16, 2019 Wednesday
October 15, 2019 Tuesday
October 14, 2019 Monday
October 13, 2019 Sunday
October 12, 2019 Saturday
October 11, 2019 Friday
October 10, 2019 Thursday
October 9, 2019 Wednesday
October 8, 2019 Tuesday
Show More