Yankees Injuries: Sabathia To The IL Due To Balky Right Knee

New York Yankees pitcher CC Sabathia has been placed on the 10-day injured list with right knee inflammation.


BALTIMORE (CBSNewYork/AP) — New York Yankees pitcher CC Sabathia has been placed on the 10-day injured list with right knee inflammation.

The team announced it Thursday before the finale of the four-game series against the Baltimore Orioles. Sabathia pitched five innings on Wednesday night and complained about knee soreness afterward.

He earned the decision in the Bombers’ 7-5 victory, despite allowing five runs and six hits. After the game, the 38-year-old Sabathia described it as “a shooting pain goes through every time that I land.”

Sabathia has started eight games, going 3-1 with a 3.48 ERA, striking out 34 in 41 1/3 innings.

He joins a list of prominent Yankees on the IL, including Aaron Judge, Giancarlo Stanton, Didi Gregorius, Dellin Betances and Troy Tulowitzki.

(© Copyright 2019 CBS Broadcasting Inc. All Rights Reserved. The Associated Press contributed to this report.)

 

You might also like

September 19, 2019 Thursday
September 18, 2019 Wednesday
September 17, 2019 Tuesday
September 16, 2019 Monday
September 15, 2019 Sunday
September 14, 2019 Saturday
September 13, 2019 Friday
September 12, 2019 Thursday
September 11, 2019 Wednesday
September 10, 2019 Tuesday
September 9, 2019 Monday
Show More