Yankees Injuries: Morales Becomes 20th Bomber To Go On IL

The first baseman/designated hitter had three hits in the Yankees' 12-5 victory over the Mets on Tuesday but did not play in the second half of the doubleheader.


CHICAGO (CBSNewYork/AP) — The New York Yankees have placed Kendrys Morales on the 10-day injured list with a left calf strain.

Morales is the 20th player to go on the IL this year for New York, matching its total for the entire 2018 season. The first baseman/designated hitter had three hits in the Yankees’ 12-5 victory over the Mets on Tuesday but did not play in the second half of the doubleheader.

MOREReport: Yankees May Have Both Stanton, Judge Back During Next Homestand, Still “Lukewarm” On Bumgarner

The Yankees also recalled outfielder Mike Tauchman and left-hander Nestor Cortes Jr. before Thursday night’s game against the Chicago White Sox. They had an open roster spot after lefty Stephen Tarpley was sent down Wednesday.

Morales, who turns 36 next Thursday, was acquired in a May 15 trade with Oakland. He is batting .177 with a homer and five RBIs in 19 games with New York.

(© Copyright 2019 CBS Broadcasting Inc. All Rights Reserved. The Associated Press contributed to this report.)

 

You might also like

September 19, 2019 Thursday
September 18, 2019 Wednesday
September 17, 2019 Tuesday
September 16, 2019 Monday
September 15, 2019 Sunday
September 14, 2019 Saturday
September 13, 2019 Friday
September 12, 2019 Thursday
September 11, 2019 Wednesday
September 10, 2019 Tuesday
September 9, 2019 Monday
Show More