Yankees Hire MLB's First Full-Time Female Hitting Coach Rachel Balkovec

Rachel Balkovec is the first woman to become a full-time hitting coach with a major league team.


NEW YORK (CBSNewYork) – The New York Yankees are making history with a new member of their coaching staff.

Rachel Balkovec is the first woman to become a full-time hitting coach with a major league team.

She holds two masters degrees in human movement science, and her expertise is data-driven.

Balkovec is working with players on things like eye tracking, ball spin and swing mechanics.

She said teams wouldn’t hire her at first, because she’s a woman. So she created a gender neutral resume, including changing her name to “Rae.”

The response was immediate.

“I said, ‘hello?’ And he said, ‘hey, can I speak to Rae?’ And I just was like, I remember my face, I was like, ‘this is she,’” Balkovec said. “You could hear ruffling of papers, and he said, ‘Oh sorry, I’m just trying to get the name right.’ And I just thought, ‘Oh no, you just didn’t know it was a girl.’”

She eventually ended up working in the minors as a strength coach with the St. Louis Cardinals and Houston Astros organizations.

Now, she’s wearing pinstripes as part of the most successful franchise in major league history.

 

You might also like

March 29, 2020 Sunday
March 27, 2020 Friday
March 26, 2020 Thursday
March 25, 2020 Wednesday
March 24, 2020 Tuesday
March 23, 2020 Monday
March 22, 2020 Sunday
March 20, 2020 Friday
March 19, 2020 Thursday
March 18, 2020 Wednesday
March 17, 2020 Tuesday
March 16, 2020 Monday
March 15, 2020 Sunday
March 13, 2020 Friday
March 12, 2020 Thursday
March 11, 2020 Wednesday
March 10, 2020 Tuesday
March 9, 2020 Monday
March 8, 2020 Sunday
March 7, 2020 Saturday
March 6, 2020 Friday
Show More