Yankees' Gary Sanchez Likely Headed To DL After Pulling Up On Grounder

Sanchez was injured in the 10th inning. He slowly walked back to the dugout and was replaced defensively by Austin Romine.


Yankees manager Aaron Boone said Sanchez hurt his right groin/hip abductor and “it’s probably going to be a DL situation.”

Sanchez was injured in the 10th inning. He slowly walked back to the dugout and was replaced defensively by Austin Romine.

“What can I say?” Sanchez said through a translator. “That’s the way baseball is sometimes. Now I’m just hoping it’s not a long time.”

Sanchez will undergo an MRI exam Monday.

The 25-year-old Sanchez went 0 for 4 in the 7-6, 12-inning loss. He’s hitting only .190 with 14 home runs and 41 RBIs, a season after he made the AL All-Star team while batting .278 with 33 homers and 90 RBIs.

The Yankees have the best record in the majors at 50-25.

(© Copyright 2018 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

 

You might also like

February 17, 2019 Sunday
February 16, 2019 Saturday
February 15, 2019 Friday
February 14, 2019 Thursday
February 13, 2019 Wednesday
February 12, 2019 Tuesday
February 11, 2019 Monday
February 10, 2019 Sunday
February 9, 2019 Saturday
February 8, 2019 Friday
Show More