World No. 1 Novak Djokovic Tests Positive For COVID-19

The top-ranked men's player tested positive for the virus just two weeks after criticizing the USTA's planned protocols to hold the U.S. Open as "extreme" and "impossible."


The 33-year-old announced Tuesday in a statement that both he and his wife tested positive.

The news comes after Djokovic played in a series of exhibition matches that he organized in Serbia and Croatia, where there was zero social distancing.

“Unfortunately, this virus is still present, and it is a new reality that we are still learning to cope and live with. I am hoping things will ease with time so we can all resume lives the way they were,” Djokovic said in a statement. “I am extremely sorry for each individual case of infection. I hope that it will not complicate anyone’s health situation and that everyone will be fine.”

MORESerena Williams ‘Cannot Wait To Return’ To NYC For US Open

According to ESPN, Djokovic defended the arrangements of his Adria Tour exhibition matches that allowed fans and interaction between players, because they were meant to help raise money to help those affected by the pandemic. Following the positive test result for Djokovic, the final of the competition was cancelled. Djokovic is reportedly not showing symptoms and is now self-isolating for the CDC-recommended 14 days.

MOREGov. Cuomo: US Open Tennis Tournament A Go For Late August

Earlier this month, he had told the press that he was unsure if he would make the trip to Queens to play in the US Open because of the restrictive nature of the protocols that the United States Tennis Association was considering.

 

You might also like

Today
August 13, 2020 Thursday
August 12, 2020 Wednesday
August 11, 2020 Tuesday
August 10, 2020 Monday
August 9, 2020 Sunday
August 8, 2020 Saturday
August 7, 2020 Friday
August 6, 2020 Thursday
August 5, 2020 Wednesday
August 4, 2020 Tuesday
August 3, 2020 Monday
August 2, 2020 Sunday
August 1, 2020 Saturday
Show More