Vargas Can't Survive One Inning, Mets Lose To Braves 11-7

Mets starter Jason Vargas was worse, lasting just six batters and 36 pitches.


Dansby Swanson drove in three runs, while Acuña, Nick Markakis and Johan Camargo each added two RBIs. Josh Donaldson went 2 for 3 and hit his first homer with the Braves in the seventh.

Touki Toussaint (1-0), recalled from Triple-A Gwinnett earlier in the day, earned the win with six strong innings of relief. He allowed four hits, one unearned run and two walks with seven strikeouts.

Acuña, last season’s NL Rookie of the Year, is hitting .579 with seven runs scored, three homers and eight RBIs over his last five games. Freeman began the day leading the NL in on-base percentage and has reached safely in Atlanta’s first 14 games.

The Braves went up 8-4 in the second off reliever Corey Oswalt (0-1) on RBIs by Freeman, Acuña, Markakis and Swanson. Markakis’ first homer of the season made it 9-4 in the fourth.

New York tied it at 4 in the second as Braves starter Sean Newcomb loaded the bases. Juan Lagares followed with a two-run double, Oswalt had a sacrifice fly, and Jeff McNeil drove in two with a single. Toussaint took Newcomb’s place after the left-hander allowed five hits, four runs and two walks in 1 1/3 innings.

Mets starter Jason Vargas was worse, lasting just six batters and 36 pitches. He gave up Acuña’s RBI single and was chased on Swanson’s bases-loaded walk. Vargas allowed two hits, four runs and three walks in one-third of an inning.

New York manager Mickey Callaway wasn’t far behind Vargas, getting ejected by the end of the first. Oswalt allowed six hits and five runs in 3 2/3 innings.

TRAINER’S ROOM:

Mets: 2B Robinson Cano got a scheduled day off. McNeil took his spot in the field and went 2 for 5 with one RBI. Keon Broxton replaced Brandon Nimmo and went 1 for 4. Nimmo delivered a pinch-hit RBI bloop single in the ninth.

DARLING’S HEALTH:

Mets announcer Ron Darling said during the TV broadcast that he will have surgery next week to remove a “large mass in my chest” and hopes to return to the broadcast booth in May. Darling, 58, said a series of tests revealed the mass. He didn’t provide further details on the diagnosis.

UP NEXT:

Mets RHP Jacob deGrom (2-1, 3.18 ERA) is coming off a rare rough outing, but the NL Cy Young Award winner is 6-5 with a 1.70 ERA in 17 career starts against Atlanta.

(© Copyright 2019 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

 

You might also like

October 16, 2019 Wednesday
October 15, 2019 Tuesday
October 14, 2019 Monday
October 13, 2019 Sunday
October 12, 2019 Saturday
October 11, 2019 Friday
October 10, 2019 Thursday
October 9, 2019 Wednesday
October 8, 2019 Tuesday
October 7, 2019 Monday
October 6, 2019 Sunday
October 5, 2019 Saturday
October 4, 2019 Friday
October 3, 2019 Thursday
October 2, 2019 Wednesday
October 1, 2019 Tuesday
September 30, 2019 Monday
September 29, 2019 Sunday
Show More