Tiger Flames Out With Opening-Round 75 At Northern Trust

Troy Merritt took advantage of the favorable conditions at Liberty National. Tiger Woods? Not so much.


JERSEY CITY, N.J. (CBSNewYork/AP) — Troy Merritt took advantage of rain-softened Liberty National by tying the course record with a 9-under 62 to take a one-shot lead among early starters Thursday in The Northern Trust.

Dustin Johnson ran off four straight birdies late in his round for a 63.

MORETiger Woods Soaks Up NYC Views At The Northern Trust

Hardly anyone was there to watch — and not just because fans were following Tiger Woods misfire on his way to a 75. Storms were so strong on the eve of the FedEx Cup playoffs opener that gates were closed to fans until 10 a.m., some three hours after the round began.

Merritt is No. 72 in the FedEx Cup and needs to be among the top 70 to advance next week and keep alive hopes for the $15 million prize to the FedEx Cup winner.

(© Copyright 2019 CBS Broadcasting Inc. All Rights Reserved. The Associated Press contributed to this report.)

 

You might also like

September 19, 2019 Thursday
September 18, 2019 Wednesday
September 17, 2019 Tuesday
September 16, 2019 Monday
September 15, 2019 Sunday
September 14, 2019 Saturday
September 13, 2019 Friday
September 12, 2019 Thursday
September 11, 2019 Wednesday
September 10, 2019 Tuesday
September 9, 2019 Monday
Show More