Team USA Dominates Thailand 13-0 At Women's World Cup, But Did The Celebrations Go Too Far?

The U.S. Women's Soccer team is 1-0 at the World Cup after a really big win. 


NEW YORK (CBSNewYork) – The U.S. Women’s Soccer team is 1-0 at the World Cup after a really big win.

The U.S. beat Thailand 13-0 Tuesday, the biggest margin ever in a World Cup.

But some are criticizing the team for post-win celebrating on the field: Did it go too far?

A win for Team USA is something to celebrate, and this one was an overwhelming one. The scoring started early and it did not let up until the American soccer stars achieved the biggest margin of victory in World Cup history, CBS2’s Dave Carlin reported.

They thrashed 34th ranked Thailand 13-0.

Co-captain Alex Morgan‘s five goals tied a team record.

What other records did they break?

  • Most goals scored by a team in a World Cup match — men’s or women’s
  • Largest margin of victory in a World Cup match
  • Tie: Most goals scored by a player in a World Cup match
  • Most individual goal scorers in a single Women’s World Cup match

Seeing members of Thailand’s team in tears and shots flying from all directions past Thailand’s goalkeeper had some feeling sad, then uncomfortable, then a little angry of American post-victory excitement. From all directions, some USA fans began to pity the underdog. Some even called the Americans “ruthless” and “relentless.”


September 19, 2019 Thursday
September 18, 2019 Wednesday
September 17, 2019 Tuesday
September 16, 2019 Monday
September 15, 2019 Sunday
September 14, 2019 Saturday
September 13, 2019 Friday
September 12, 2019 Thursday
September 11, 2019 Wednesday
September 10, 2019 Tuesday
September 9, 2019 Monday
Show More