Sexton Powers Cavaliers To Easy Win Over Knicks

Collin Sexton scored 31 points and the Cleveland Cavaliers beat the New York Knicks 108-87 on Sunday night.


Kevin Love and Jordan Clarkson each added 17 points for Cleveland (4-5), which has its first winning streak of the season. The Cavaliers were coming off a 113-100 win over Washington on Friday.

Julius Randle had 20 points and 16 rebounds and Alonzo Trier added 13 points for New York (2-8).

Cleveland opened the second half on an 18-6 run and led the Knicks by as many as 30 in the third quarter. Following a driving layup from Sexton at the 6:48 mark of the third quarter, fans booed the Knicks heavily.

The Cavaliers took a 54-36 lead into the half as Sexton led all scorers with 16 points. The Knicks struggled mightily from the field shooting 16 for 43 in the first half, taking many contested long two-pointers.

Cleveland busted out of the gate and led 14-4 as Sexton scored nine points to open the game.

TIP-INS

Cavaliers: Coach John Beilein said the lack of “development preparation” is the biggest transition for him adjusting from the college to pro game. … John Henson (hamstring), Dylan Windler (leg) and Ante Zizic (foot) were out for Cleveland.

Knicks: Elfrid Payton is not guaranteed his starting point guard spot upon return. “If things are going well, we’ll probably stay with what we’re doing,” David Fizdale said. … Elfrid Payton (hamstring), Dennis Smith Jr. (personal), Mitchell Robinson (concussion) and Reggie Bullock (neck) were out for New York.

OLYMPIC GOLD MEDALIST IN ATTENDANCE

Tara Lipinski, who won a figure skating gold medal at the 1998 Olympics, was on hand.

UP NEXT

Cavaliers: Visit Philadelphia on Tuesday night.

Knicks: Visit Chicago on Tuesday night.

(© Copyright 2019 CBS Broadcasting Inc. All Rights Reserved. The Associated Press contributed to this report.)

 

You might also like

November 21, 2019 Thursday
November 20, 2019 Wednesday
November 19, 2019 Tuesday
November 18, 2019 Monday
November 17, 2019 Sunday
November 16, 2019 Saturday
November 15, 2019 Friday
November 14, 2019 Thursday
November 13, 2019 Wednesday
November 12, 2019 Tuesday
November 11, 2019 Monday
November 10, 2019 Sunday
November 9, 2019 Saturday
Show More