Saluting The Champions: Start Time, Street Closures & Service Changes For USWNT World Cup Parade

 Thousands of people are expected to salute the World Cup-champion U.S. Women’s Soccer team today with a parade up the Canyon of Heroes.


NEW YORK (CBSNewYork) – Thousands of people are expected to salute the World Cup-champion U.S. Women’s Soccer team today with a parade up the Canyon of Heroes.

When: 9:30 a.m. to 2 p.m. Wednesday
Where: Broadway between Battery and City Hall

Street closures:

The NYPD will start closing streets on Broadway between Battery and Reade Street around 6 a.m. Wednesday.

The Brooklyn Bridge Centre Street exit and Park Row entrance will be closed for the duration of the parade. Drivers should use the Frankfort Street/Pearl Street entrance.

No parking will take effect at 12 a.m. Wednesday.

Deliveries will be restricted between 10 p.m. Tuesday and 5 p.m. Wednesday.

Service changes:

NYC Transit customers are encouraged to use the following stations to access the parade:

WTC – Cortland,1  train

Fulton Street, J, Z, 2, 3 trains

Wall Street, 2, 3 trains

South Ferry/Whitehall Street, 1, R, W trains

Brooklyn Bridge – City Hall, 4, 5, 6 trains

*Customers will disabilities can watch from an accessible area south of Wall Street’s Charging Bull, with access from the Bowling Green 4 and 5 train station.

The following stations are expected to experience crowding:

Fulton Street, A, C, 4, 5 trains

Wall Street, 4, 5 trains

Bowling Green, 4, 5 trains

Chambers Street – WTC/Park Place, A, C, E, 2, 3 trains

Cortland Street, R, W trains

*The City Hall R and W train station will be bypassed between 8:30 and 11 a.m.

Long Island Rail Road:

Seven additional trains will leave Penn Station between 2:22 p.m. and 3:48 p.m. to help customers get home from the parade.

Babylon Branch:

Port Jefferson Branch to Hicksville/Huntington:

Far Rockaway Branch:

Port Washington Branch to Great Neck:

Metro-North Railroad:

Select trains will be lengthened on the New Haven line, a special extra train will be staged on the Harlem line, and extra staff will be on hand at Grand Central to help manage crowds.

For more information from the MTA, click here.

 

You might also like

June 3, 2020 Wednesday
June 2, 2020 Tuesday
June 1, 2020 Monday
May 31, 2020 Sunday
May 29, 2020 Friday
May 28, 2020 Thursday
May 27, 2020 Wednesday
May 26, 2020 Tuesday
May 25, 2020 Monday
May 22, 2020 Friday
May 21, 2020 Thursday
May 20, 2020 Wednesday
May 18, 2020 Monday
May 17, 2020 Sunday
May 16, 2020 Saturday
May 15, 2020 Friday
May 14, 2020 Thursday
May 13, 2020 Wednesday
May 12, 2020 Tuesday
May 11, 2020 Monday
May 8, 2020 Friday
May 7, 2020 Thursday
May 6, 2020 Wednesday
May 5, 2020 Tuesday
May 4, 2020 Monday
May 1, 2020 Friday
April 29, 2020 Wednesday
April 28, 2020 Tuesday
April 25, 2020 Saturday
Show More