Reports: Jets Send Players, Staff Home Following Presumptive Positive COVID-19 Test

The Jets have reportedly sent players and staff home from their facility Friday following a presumed positive test for COVID-19.


The presumed positive test casts some doubt on whether or not the Jets will be able to host the Arizona Cardinals this Sunday. According to Schefter, the Cardinals were scheduled to leave Arizona to fly to New York Friday, though it is unclear whether those plans will go ahead.

The positive test for the Jets is another test of the league’s protocols following an outbreak at the Tennessee Titans facility last week into this week and several Patriots players have tested positive in the last week. Rich Cimini, who covers the Jets for ESPN’s NFL Nation network of blogs, reported that the player that potentially tested positive has been re-tested.

Since it was a presumed positive test and not a confirmed positive, the team will await the results of this second test. If the positive test is then confirmed, the team and league will continue to move through its contact tracing protocols. According to Cimini, Jets players were in the building when they learned of the presumed positive test.

The team has not yet released a statement on this morning’s reports, we will update this story as it continues to develop.

 

You might also like

December 1, 2020 Tuesday
November 29, 2020 Sunday
November 25, 2020 Wednesday
November 22, 2020 Sunday
November 21, 2020 Saturday
November 20, 2020 Friday
November 19, 2020 Thursday
November 18, 2020 Wednesday
November 17, 2020 Tuesday
November 15, 2020 Sunday
November 11, 2020 Wednesday
November 10, 2020 Tuesday
November 8, 2020 Sunday
November 6, 2020 Friday
November 3, 2020 Tuesday
November 1, 2020 Sunday
October 30, 2020 Friday
October 29, 2020 Thursday
October 28, 2020 Wednesday
October 25, 2020 Sunday
October 24, 2020 Saturday
October 23, 2020 Friday
October 20, 2020 Tuesday
October 18, 2020 Sunday
October 15, 2020 Thursday
October 14, 2020 Wednesday
October 13, 2020 Tuesday
October 11, 2020 Sunday
Show More