Reports: Jets Lose LB Williamson For Season With Torn ACL

Williamson injured the anterior cruciate ligament in his right knee in the second quarter of the team's 22-10 preseason win at Atlanta on Thursday night.


NEW YORK (AP) — A person familiar with the nature of the injury says New York Jets linebacker Avery Williamson has a torn knee ligament that will sideline him for the season.

Williamson injured the anterior cruciate ligament in his right knee in the second quarter of the team’s 22-10 preseason win at Atlanta on Thursday night.

An MRI on Friday revealed the nature and severity of the injury, according to the source who spoke to The Associated Press on condition of anonymity because the team did not make an announcement.

NFL Network first reported that Williamson tore his ACL.

Williamson, one of the key pieces of the Jets’ defense, was still in the game with mostly backups when cornerback Tevaughn Campbell dived for a pass into the end zone and hit into the linebacker’s knee.

(© Copyright 2019 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

 

You might also like

February 14, 2020 Friday
February 13, 2020 Thursday
February 12, 2020 Wednesday
February 11, 2020 Tuesday
February 10, 2020 Monday
February 9, 2020 Sunday
February 8, 2020 Saturday
February 7, 2020 Friday
February 6, 2020 Thursday
February 5, 2020 Wednesday
February 4, 2020 Tuesday
February 3, 2020 Monday
February 2, 2020 Sunday
February 1, 2020 Saturday
January 30, 2020 Thursday
January 29, 2020 Wednesday
Show More