Remembering Doc Gooden's No-Hitter As MLB Struggles To Salvage A Season

Major League Baseball is still looking to get a season in play, 24 years after Doc Gooden's ho-hitter against Seattle.


In addition, the MLB will discourage ride-sharing like Uber to the stadium in their formal proposal to the players association, reports CBS2’s Otis Livingston.

Blake Snell is in no hurry to get back to baseball. The Cy Young winner says it’s not worth risking his life playing a shortened season and getting a small portion of his pay, which was supposed to be $7 million.

He was quoted as saying, “I gotta get my money, I’m not playing unless I get mine.”

No-Hitter Remembered

Where were you 24 years ago today? If you were a Yankee and a Doc Gooden fan, you were probably at Yankee Stadium or glued to your television set witnessing Doc throw his first and only Major League no-hitter against the Seattle Mariners.

But did you know he wasn’t supposed to pitch that day? He was going skip the game and fly to Florida where his father was scheduled to have open-heart surgery.

Against his mother’s wishes, he decided to stay, saying his father would’ve wanted him to pitch. And as they say, the rest is history…

Doc flew home the next day and gave the game ball to his father, who despite being gravely ill watched his son’s historic performance.

Doc’s father never made it home, passing away eight months later.

 

You might also like

November 25, 2020 Wednesday
November 22, 2020 Sunday
November 21, 2020 Saturday
November 20, 2020 Friday
November 19, 2020 Thursday
November 18, 2020 Wednesday
November 17, 2020 Tuesday
November 15, 2020 Sunday
November 11, 2020 Wednesday
November 10, 2020 Tuesday
November 8, 2020 Sunday
November 6, 2020 Friday
November 3, 2020 Tuesday
November 1, 2020 Sunday
October 30, 2020 Friday
October 29, 2020 Thursday
October 28, 2020 Wednesday
October 25, 2020 Sunday
October 24, 2020 Saturday
October 23, 2020 Friday
October 20, 2020 Tuesday
October 18, 2020 Sunday
October 15, 2020 Thursday
October 14, 2020 Wednesday
October 13, 2020 Tuesday
October 11, 2020 Sunday
October 10, 2020 Saturday
October 9, 2020 Friday
Show More