Pitcher Chad Bettis, Yankees Reach Minor League Deal

Free agent pitcher Chad Bettis signed a minor league contract with the New York Yankees on Sunday with an invitation an invitation to big league spring training.


The 30-year-old right-hander was 1-6 with one save and a 6.08 ERA in 39 games, including three starts, for Colorado last season. He went on the injured list Aug. 14 with a left hip impingement and didn’t pitch the rest of the year.

Bettis has pitched in parts of seven seasons in the majors, all for Colorado. He is 31-31 with one save and a 5.12 ERA in 164 games, 92 of them starts.

Bettis was diagnosed with testicular cancer in November 2016 after going 14-8 in the Rockies’ rotation. He underwent surgery and chemotherapy and returned to the majors in August 2017, throwing seven shutout innings to beat Atlanta at Coors Field.

(© Copyright 2020 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

 

You might also like

April 2, 2020 Thursday
April 1, 2020 Wednesday
March 29, 2020 Sunday
March 27, 2020 Friday
March 26, 2020 Thursday
March 25, 2020 Wednesday
March 24, 2020 Tuesday
March 23, 2020 Monday
March 22, 2020 Sunday
March 20, 2020 Friday
March 19, 2020 Thursday
March 18, 2020 Wednesday
March 17, 2020 Tuesday
March 16, 2020 Monday
March 15, 2020 Sunday
March 13, 2020 Friday
March 12, 2020 Thursday
March 11, 2020 Wednesday
March 10, 2020 Tuesday
March 9, 2020 Monday
March 8, 2020 Sunday
March 7, 2020 Saturday
Show More