New York Giants Add James Bradberry, Blake Martinez To Bolster Defense

The New York Giants have made several additions on the defensive side of the ball during free agency.


(CBS New York)– The New York Giants defense was in the bottom half of the league for yards allowed per game and that is why general manager Dave Gettleman addressed the team’s defense in free agency this week.

The Giants signed former Carolina Panthers cornerback James Bradberry to a three year, $45 million deal and added former Green Bay Packers linebackers Blake Martinez (three years, $30 million) and Kyler Fackrell (one year, $4.6 million).

Bradberry became one of the best lockdown corners in the game in Carolina and Martinez and Fackrell combined for 120 tackles in 2019.

The team also added to the offense by bringing in former San Francisco 49ers tight end Levine Toilolo on a two year, $6.2 million deal. The 28-year-old has played for the 49ers, Lions, and Falcons and has eight career touchdown catches.

Big Blue enters a new era after hiring former New England Patriots special teams coach Joe Judge as the franchise’s head coach in January.

The team also brought back a few familiar faces by using the franchise tag on defensive lineman Leonard Williams, linebacker David Mayo got resigned to a three year, $8.4 million extension and special teams player Cody Core is coming back as well.

 

You might also like

July 11, 2020 Saturday
July 10, 2020 Friday
July 9, 2020 Thursday
July 7, 2020 Tuesday
July 4, 2020 Saturday
July 3, 2020 Friday
July 2, 2020 Thursday
July 1, 2020 Wednesday
June 30, 2020 Tuesday
June 26, 2020 Friday
June 25, 2020 Thursday
June 24, 2020 Wednesday
June 23, 2020 Tuesday
June 22, 2020 Monday
June 20, 2020 Saturday
June 19, 2020 Friday
June 18, 2020 Thursday
June 17, 2020 Wednesday
June 16, 2020 Tuesday
Show More