MLB Season Proposal Approved By Owners, Yankees And Mets Seasons Could Start July 4

The proposal, approved by owners Monday, includes an 82 game regional schedule and universal DH. It will now be presented to the Players Association Tuesday.


NEW YORK(CBSNewYork) — Reports surfaced on Monday that the Major League Baseball owners approved a proposal for a condensed 2019-20 regular season that would see the league open on July 4.

The approval by the owners is just the first step in the process as next the proposal will be presented to the MLB Players Association and the two sides could begin negotiating the proposal’s terms as soon as Tuesday.

According to CBSSports.com, included in the proposal are the following items:

  • 82-game regional schedule and universal DH
  • 30-man active rosters with a 20-player taxi squad
  • 14 teams in the postseason with games played in home cities in October
  • 50/50 revenue split for players and owners

MLB insider Bob Nightengale reports that the plan is to allow teams to hold spring training in their own ballparks or at their spring training facilities in Arizona or Florida beginning in June. Nightengale further reports that while the league will maintain its traditional structure of two leagues with three divisions in each, the proposal has teams playing only those teams in their division and in the same geographical division in the opposing league.

For the Yankees, that would mean playing their traditional AL East rivals and also the NL East, which, of course, includes the crosstown rival Mets.

There are still plenty of speed bumps to be navigated in getting to the final stages of approval, but it would appear possible that the Subway Series rivals will see a lot more of each other this summer.

 

You might also like

May 29, 2020 Friday
May 28, 2020 Thursday
May 27, 2020 Wednesday
May 26, 2020 Tuesday
May 25, 2020 Monday
May 22, 2020 Friday
May 21, 2020 Thursday
May 20, 2020 Wednesday
May 18, 2020 Monday
May 17, 2020 Sunday
May 16, 2020 Saturday
May 15, 2020 Friday
May 14, 2020 Thursday
May 13, 2020 Wednesday
May 12, 2020 Tuesday
May 11, 2020 Monday
May 8, 2020 Friday
May 7, 2020 Thursday
May 6, 2020 Wednesday
May 5, 2020 Tuesday
May 4, 2020 Monday
May 1, 2020 Friday
April 29, 2020 Wednesday
April 28, 2020 Tuesday
April 25, 2020 Saturday
April 24, 2020 Friday
Show More