Mitrita's 2 Goals Help New York City Beat FC Cincinnati

The 25-year-old Mitrita scored 12 goals last season but has seen his role reduced this season, making six starts in 10 scoreless appearances before Saturday.


The game was played after FC Cincinnati announced that an unidentified player had tested positive and was in isolation. Defender Nick Hagglund later confirmed via social media that he contracted COVID-19.

The 25-year-old Mitrita scored 12 goals last season but has seen his role reduced this season, making six starts in 10 scoreless appearances before Saturday.

Mitrita re-directed a pass from Anton Tinnerholm and blasted a right-footer inside the post from the top of the box to open the scoring just 30 seconds into the game — the fastest goal in franchise history.

Tinnerholm slipped a side-netter between goalkeeper Spencer Richey and the post in the 25th minute and Mitrita’s left-footer from the center of the area gave New York City (6-6-3) a 3-0 lead in the 43rd.

Cincinnati (3-7-3) had just 36.5% possession and was outshot 12-4 in the first half.

Jesús Medina capped the scoring in the 88th minute.

(© Copyright 2020 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

You can get the latest news, sports and weather on our brand new CBS New York app. Download here.

 

You might also like

December 1, 2020 Tuesday
November 29, 2020 Sunday
November 25, 2020 Wednesday
November 22, 2020 Sunday
November 21, 2020 Saturday
November 20, 2020 Friday
November 19, 2020 Thursday
November 18, 2020 Wednesday
November 17, 2020 Tuesday
November 15, 2020 Sunday
November 11, 2020 Wednesday
November 10, 2020 Tuesday
November 8, 2020 Sunday
November 6, 2020 Friday
November 3, 2020 Tuesday
November 1, 2020 Sunday
October 30, 2020 Friday
October 29, 2020 Thursday
October 28, 2020 Wednesday
October 25, 2020 Sunday
October 24, 2020 Saturday
October 23, 2020 Friday
October 20, 2020 Tuesday
October 18, 2020 Sunday
October 15, 2020 Thursday
October 14, 2020 Wednesday
October 13, 2020 Tuesday
October 11, 2020 Sunday
Show More