Mets' Rookie Pete Alonso To Donate 'Never Forget' Cleats To 9/11 Museum

The All-Star first baseman will donate the cleats he wore during last month’s game on the 18th anniversary of the 9/11 terror attacks.


NEW YORK (CBSNewYork/AP) – New York Mets rookie Pete Alonso plans to visit the 9/11 Memorial and Museum today.

The All-Star first baseman will donate the cleats he wore during last month’s game on the 18th anniversary of the 9/11 terror attacks.

The custom shoes were painted red, white and blue with the words, “never forget.”

Alonso said he went around the Mets locker room and collected each teammate’s size and preferred brand.

“I’m really happy that we kind of banded together here in the clubhouse and made something cool happen,” he told reporters.

The cleats were just the latest in his efforts to help those impacted by the attacks. After winning the All-Star Home Run Derby in July, Alonso donated $50,000 of his $1 million prize to the Tunnel to Towers Foundation.

The shoes are expected to go in the museum’s permanent collection.

(© Copyright 2019 CBS Broadcasting Inc. All Rights Reserved. The Associated Press contributed to this report.)

 

You might also like

May 28, 2020 Thursday
May 27, 2020 Wednesday
May 26, 2020 Tuesday
May 25, 2020 Monday
May 22, 2020 Friday
May 21, 2020 Thursday
May 20, 2020 Wednesday
May 18, 2020 Monday
May 17, 2020 Sunday
May 16, 2020 Saturday
May 15, 2020 Friday
May 14, 2020 Thursday
May 13, 2020 Wednesday
May 12, 2020 Tuesday
May 11, 2020 Monday
May 8, 2020 Friday
May 7, 2020 Thursday
May 6, 2020 Wednesday
May 5, 2020 Tuesday
May 4, 2020 Monday
May 1, 2020 Friday
April 29, 2020 Wednesday
April 28, 2020 Tuesday
April 25, 2020 Saturday
April 24, 2020 Friday
April 23, 2020 Thursday
April 21, 2020 Tuesday
Show More