Mets Fire Manager Callaway After 2 Seasons

Mickey Callaway won 11 of his first 12 games as manager of the Mets. Unfortunately, that was likely the highest point of his tenure in New York.


NEW YORK (CBSNewYork) Mickey Callaway won 11 of his first 12 games as manager of the Mets. Unfortunately, that was likely the highest point of his tenure in New York.

Callaway, who just finished his second season at the helm, was fired on Thursday, the team announced.

The decision came after a second-half surge ended just short of the playoffs. Callaway and the Mets could never find the consistency they needed to overcome a dismal first-half performance, filled with major bullpen problems, a coaching shakeup, an embarrassing clubhouse blowup with a reporter, and several questionable decisions by the sophomore manager.


October 18, 2019 Friday
October 17, 2019 Thursday
October 16, 2019 Wednesday
October 15, 2019 Tuesday
October 14, 2019 Monday
October 13, 2019 Sunday
October 12, 2019 Saturday
October 11, 2019 Friday
October 10, 2019 Thursday
October 9, 2019 Wednesday
October 8, 2019 Tuesday
October 7, 2019 Monday
October 6, 2019 Sunday
October 5, 2019 Saturday
October 4, 2019 Friday
October 3, 2019 Thursday
Show More