Merzlikins Leads Blue Jackets' Rout Of New Jersey

Devils goalie Cory Schneider started for the first time since Nov. 8 and was chased late in the second period.


Cam Atkinson had two goals and an assist, helping the Blue Jackets improve to 14-2-4 in their last 20 games. Alexander Wennberg, Jakob Lilja and Nick Foligno also scored.

Devils goalie Cory Schneider started for the first time since Nov. 8 and was chased late in the second period. Schneider had 13 saves in 32:14 and Mackenzie Blackwood recorded 13 the rest of the way.

After some great saves by Merzlikins early — including alertly pouncing on a puck that nearly trickled in off a teammate’s skate — Atkinson got the Blue Jackets on the board when he ripped a shot from the high slot past Schneider’s glove late in the first. Merzlikins had to make 19 stops as the Devils swarmed in the opening period.

Atkinson got his second goal 21 seconds after Merzlikins helped kill off a power play in the second. Atkinson — in his second game back from an ankle injury — beat Schneider from just inside the left circle off a neat setup by Emil Bemstrom.

Lilja made it 3-0 when he put back a rebound from the doorstep with 8:02 left in the second, and 16 seconds later Foligno tapped a loose puck between the pads of Schneider. Columbus led 5-0 at the second intermission despite being outshot 36-21.

NOTES: Wennberg increased his point streak to a season-high four games. … New Jersey F Kyle Rooney returned after missing one game due to illness. … Devils star F Kyle Palmieri missed his fourth game with a foot injury. He was put on injured reserve Thursday. … Columbus F Sonny Milano was scratched for the second straight game. … The Blue Jackets are 7-1-1 in their past nine home games.

UP NEXT

Devils: At Ottawa on Monday.

Blue Jackets: At New York Rangers on Sunday.

(© Copyright 2020 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

 

You might also like

March 27, 2020 Friday
March 26, 2020 Thursday
March 25, 2020 Wednesday
March 24, 2020 Tuesday
March 23, 2020 Monday
March 22, 2020 Sunday
March 20, 2020 Friday
March 19, 2020 Thursday
March 18, 2020 Wednesday
March 17, 2020 Tuesday
March 16, 2020 Monday
March 15, 2020 Sunday
March 13, 2020 Friday
March 12, 2020 Thursday
March 11, 2020 Wednesday
March 10, 2020 Tuesday
March 9, 2020 Monday
March 8, 2020 Sunday
March 7, 2020 Saturday
March 6, 2020 Friday
Show More