LeMahieu, Gardner Lead Yankees To 100th Win, Clinch First AL East Title Since 2012

In a year full of injuries, doubleheaders, and juiced baseballs – there was nothing that could slow the Yankees down in 2019.


New York clinched their first American League East division title since 2012 with a dominating 9-1 win over the Los Angeles Angels Thursday night.

After missing out a shot to clinch the night before, MVP candidate DJ LeMahieu launched yet another hit with runners in scoring position in the second inning – a three-run homer into the right-center field stands which gave New York a lead they would never surrender.

Brett Gardner added his career-high 26th home run in the victory. He also drove in three runs, giving the 36-year-old a career-best 69 RBI.

Although the division is wrapped up, the Yankees still have something to play for in 2019.

They are currently in a battle with the Houston Astros for the league’s best record and home-field advantage in the postseason.

New York matched the Astros with 100 wins on the season Thursday, Houston has one fewer loss as both juggernauts head towards October.

 

You might also like

June 4, 2020 Thursday
June 3, 2020 Wednesday
June 2, 2020 Tuesday
June 1, 2020 Monday
May 31, 2020 Sunday
May 29, 2020 Friday
May 28, 2020 Thursday
May 27, 2020 Wednesday
May 26, 2020 Tuesday
May 25, 2020 Monday
May 22, 2020 Friday
May 21, 2020 Thursday
May 20, 2020 Wednesday
May 18, 2020 Monday
May 17, 2020 Sunday
May 16, 2020 Saturday
May 15, 2020 Friday
May 14, 2020 Thursday
May 13, 2020 Wednesday
May 12, 2020 Tuesday
May 11, 2020 Monday
May 8, 2020 Friday
May 7, 2020 Thursday
May 6, 2020 Wednesday
May 5, 2020 Tuesday
May 4, 2020 Monday
May 1, 2020 Friday
April 29, 2020 Wednesday
April 28, 2020 Tuesday
Show More