Kreider Scores Twice, Leads Rangers Past Jets

The Rangers are 5-2-0 in their last seven games.


Ryan Strome and Mika Zibanejad each had a goal and assist for the Rangers (28-23-4), who were starting a three-game trip. The Rangers are 5-2-0 in their last seven games.

Nikolaj Ehlers had Winnipeg’s lone goal. The loss also ended the Jets’ five-game point streak (4-0-1).

Connor Hellebuyck made 28 saves for Winnipeg, which was playing the third game (2-1-0) of a season-long six-game homestand.

Igor Shesterkin stopped 42 shots for New York. He started the game, left with six minutes remaining in the first, but returned for the start of the second and stayed in. Henrik Lundqvist made one save in his brief appearance.

At 8:12 of the first, Shesterkin was crashed into by Andrew Copp after the Jets forward was pushed by Rangers defenseman Tony DeAngelo. The rookie goaltender looked shaken, and DeAngelo was penalized for interference.

The Rangers led 1-0 after the first period and 2-0 after two.

Kreider scored his 21st goal of the season with 35 seconds remaining in the first period after he went in alone on Hellebuyck, deked and put the puck over the goalie’s out-stretched left leg.

Kreider’s second goal was on the power play, a shot off a rebound that went in at 7:30 of the second.

The Rangers made it 4-0 by the 1:28 mark of the third period. Strome scored 53 seconds into the frame and Zibanejad followed 35 seconds later, with his 23rd of the season.

Ehlers scored at 4:35 with a shot that went off the skate of Rangers defenseman Ryan Lindgren. The goal was Ehlers’ 110th with the Jets, moving him past Evander Kane for ninth-most goals in franchise history.

Winnipeg was 0-for-4 on the power play. New York was 1 for 1.

The Jets host the San Jose Sharks on Friday. The Rangers play in Minnesota on Thursday.

NOTES: In a pregame ceremony, the Jets inducted Randy Carlyle and Thomas Steen into the team’s Hall of Fame. Carlyle, a native of Sudbury, Ontario, was a Norris Trophy-winning defenseman who tallied 306 points in 564 games for the Jets from 1984-93. Steen, a Swedish forward, collected 817 points in 950 regular-season games from 1981-95. … Rangers defenseman Jacob Trouba, who played six seasons with the Jets before being traded last June for Neal Pionk, got a video tribute and cheers from fans at Bell MTS Place during the first period. Earlier in the period, some fans booed him every time he touched the puck.

UP NEXT

Rangers: At Minnesota on Thursday.

Jets: Host San Jose Sharks on Friday.

(© Copyright 2020 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

 

You might also like

April 4, 2020 Saturday
April 2, 2020 Thursday
April 1, 2020 Wednesday
March 29, 2020 Sunday
March 27, 2020 Friday
March 26, 2020 Thursday
March 25, 2020 Wednesday
March 24, 2020 Tuesday
March 23, 2020 Monday
March 22, 2020 Sunday
March 20, 2020 Friday
March 19, 2020 Thursday
March 18, 2020 Wednesday
March 17, 2020 Tuesday
March 16, 2020 Monday
March 15, 2020 Sunday
March 13, 2020 Friday
March 12, 2020 Thursday
March 11, 2020 Wednesday
March 10, 2020 Tuesday
March 9, 2020 Monday
March 8, 2020 Sunday
Show More