Kovalchuk Scores In SO, Canadiens Rally Past Devils

Kyle Palmieri scored two-power-play goals for New Jersey, including the game-tying tally with 20 seconds left in regulation.


NEWARK, N.J. (AP) — Ilya Kovalchuk scored the only shootout goal and the Montreal Canadiens rallied from a three-goal deficit to beat the New Jersey Devils 5-4 on Tuesday night.

Montreal’s Charlie Lindgren had 20 saves filling for an ill Carey Price, and easily handled muffed chances by Nikita Gusev, Kyle Palmieri and Jack Hughes in the shootout.

Joel Armia, Nate Thompson, Nick Cousins and Christian Folin scored in regulation for the Canadiens.

Palmieri scored two-power-play goals for New Jersey, including the game-tying tally with 20 seconds left in regulation. The late power play was the result of Montreal having too many men on the ice.

Miles Wood and Jesper Bratt also scored for the Devils. Louis Domingue had 32 saves for New Jersey, which has played in four straight overtime games since the All Star break. He had no chance the wrist shot by Kovalchuk, a former Devil.

Folin gave the Canadiens a 4-3 lead on a shot from the right point at 9:35 of the third. Devils forward Travis Zajac tipped the shot in the right circle and it bounced into the net.

The late power play allowed Palmieri to tie it with his 19th goal.

The Devils seemed to be in total command when Bratt beat Lindgren with a flubbed shot at 6:44 of the second period for a 3-0 lead.

The Canadiens’ chances of winning dimmed even more Max Domi was penalized at 12:29, putting New Jersey on the power play.

Everything changed in the next 40 seconds.

Armia, who was stopped on a short-handed breakaway in early in the period, picked off Palmieri’s pass at center ice and beat Domingue on a breakaway to cut the lead to 3-1.

Thompson narrowed the deficit to a goal less than four minutes later, making a power move from the right point and scoring his third of the season in close.

Cousins tied jt at 7:22 of the third with a shot in close off a nice setup by Brett Kulak.

Wood had give New Jersey a 1-0 lead midway through the first period with a bad-angle shot Lindgren misplayed.

Palmieri stretched the lead to 2-0 with a power-play goal at 1:51 of the second. Bratt got his 10th of the season despite almost whiffing on a shot.

The flu bug was going around. Devils D P.K. Subban, and Price and fellow Canadiens Victor Mete and Jordan Weak were all ill.

NOTES: … Kovalchuk and Devils Andy Greene and Zajac were all on New Jersey’s 2012 Cup finalists. … New Jersey played without C Nico Hischier and D Sami Vatanen. Hischier had stitches in his knee and Vatanan took a shot off his foot Saturday. … Bratt extended his point streak to four games with assist on Wood’s goal. … Devils F Joey Anderson and D Colton White were recalled from Binghamton (AHL) and played in their first NHL games of season.

UP NEXT

Canadiens: Return to Montreal to host Anaheim on Thursday night.

Devils: At Philadelphia on Thursday night. New Jersey is 0-1-1 against Flyers.

(© Copyright 2020 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

 

You might also like

April 4, 2020 Saturday
April 2, 2020 Thursday
April 1, 2020 Wednesday
March 29, 2020 Sunday
March 27, 2020 Friday
March 26, 2020 Thursday
March 25, 2020 Wednesday
March 24, 2020 Tuesday
March 23, 2020 Monday
March 22, 2020 Sunday
March 20, 2020 Friday
March 19, 2020 Thursday
March 18, 2020 Wednesday
March 17, 2020 Tuesday
March 16, 2020 Monday
March 15, 2020 Sunday
March 13, 2020 Friday
March 12, 2020 Thursday
March 11, 2020 Wednesday
March 10, 2020 Tuesday
March 9, 2020 Monday
March 8, 2020 Sunday
Show More