Jets Training Camp: Gase Says Bell Won't Play Before Opener

Le'Veon Bell will have to wait a little longer for his debut with the New York Jets.


EAST RUTHERFORD, N.J. (CBSNewYork/AP) — Le’Veon Bell will have to wait a little longer for his debut with the New York Jets.

Coach Adam Gase announced Sunday night that the star running back will be held out of the team’s final two preseason games.

“I was about 99% sure heading into the preseason,” Gase said after the Jets’ practice at MetLife Stadium. “It was all based off of how he practiced, conditioning and all those types of things.”

MOREDarnold Scores Again, Jets Suffer More Injuries In Preseason Win Over Falcons

Gase and Bell spoke about the plan when training camp started, and Bell’s snaps increased in practiced last week.

Bell has been practicing fully and looked good in training camp after sitting out all last season in a contract dispute with Pittsburgh. Gase and the Jets don’t want to take any unnecessary risks with Bell.

“We’ll just get him as game ready as possible,” Gase said. “He’s not really going to know until we get into a real game, but I feel like he’s in great shape and he’s been contacting about as good as anybody on the practice field.

“So, I feel confident he’ll be ready to go (in) Week 1.”

That would be the regular-season opener against Buffalo on Sept. 8. It will mark the first time Bell will play in a game since the Steelers’ playoff loss to Jacksonville on Jan. 14, 2018 — a span of nearly 20 months.


September 21, 2019 Saturday
September 20, 2019 Friday
September 19, 2019 Thursday
September 18, 2019 Wednesday
September 17, 2019 Tuesday
September 16, 2019 Monday
September 15, 2019 Sunday
September 14, 2019 Saturday
September 13, 2019 Friday
September 12, 2019 Thursday
September 11, 2019 Wednesday
Show More