Jets Take Big Hit: Enunwa Out For Season Due To Neck Injury

Coach Adam Gase said Wednesday that Enunwa is still undergoing tests and wouldn't speculate if the injury could threaten Enunwa's career.


FLORHAM PARK, N.J. (CBSNewYork/AP) — New York Jets wide receiver Quincy Enunwa will be sidelined the rest of the season with a neck injury, his second in just over two years.

Coach Adam Gase said Wednesday that Enunwa is still undergoing tests and wouldn’t speculate if the injury could threaten Enunwa’s career.

The 27-year-old Enunwa missed the entire 2017 season after injuring his neck in training camp. He had bulging disks in his neck that required surgery. Enunwa returned last season and had 38 catches for 449 yards and a touchdown.

FLASHBACK: Jets Sign Receiver Quincy Enunwa To 4-Year Extension

He had just one catch in the season opener for minus-4 yards.

New York traded a 2021 sixth-round draft pick to New England for Demaryius Thomas on Tuesday. The 31-year-old Thomas could see a major role in the offense, and Gase expects him to play Monday night against Cleveland, pending a physical.

(© Copyright 2019 CBS Broadcasting Inc. All Rights Reserved. The Associated Press contributed to this report.)

 

You might also like

September 21, 2019 Saturday
September 20, 2019 Friday
September 19, 2019 Thursday
September 18, 2019 Wednesday
September 17, 2019 Tuesday
September 16, 2019 Monday
September 15, 2019 Sunday
September 14, 2019 Saturday
September 13, 2019 Friday
September 12, 2019 Thursday
September 11, 2019 Wednesday
Show More