Jets QB Sam Darnold Sidelined For Sunday's Game As Mono Recovery Continues

Coach Adam Gase says Friday that Darnold had tests Thursday night and the results were not positive enough for doctors to clear him to play.


NEW YORK (AP) — Jets quarterback Sam Darnold has been ruled out for New York’s game at Philadelphia on Sunday as he continues to recover from mononucleosis.

Coach Adam Gase says Friday that Darnold had tests Thursday night and the results were not positive enough for doctors to clear him to play.

Luke Falk will make his second straight start. The Jets also re-signed quarterback David Fales to serve as Falk’s backup.

Darnold was diagnosed with mononucleosis on Sept. 11, three days after the season-opening loss to Buffalo. The initial hope was the 22-year-old quarterback might be ready to play again this week, but doctors have been monitoring Darnold’s spleen, which became enlarged, a common symptom of mononucleosis.

Gase says Darnold was disappointed about having to sit a third straight game. There is optimism, though, Darnold will be able to return against Dallas on Oct. 13.

(© Copyright 2019 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

 

You might also like

October 22, 2019 Tuesday
October 21, 2019 Monday
October 20, 2019 Sunday
October 19, 2019 Saturday
October 18, 2019 Friday
October 17, 2019 Thursday
October 16, 2019 Wednesday
October 15, 2019 Tuesday
October 14, 2019 Monday
October 13, 2019 Sunday
October 12, 2019 Saturday
October 11, 2019 Friday
October 10, 2019 Thursday
October 9, 2019 Wednesday
Show More