Jets' Gase: No Input On GM Firing; Excited About Bell

Jets coach Adam Gase insists he had no input on the firing of general manager Mike Maccagnan and says he never asked team chairman and CEO Christopher Johnson to make a change.


FLORHAM PARK, N.J. (CBSNewYork/AP) — New York Jets coach Adam Gase insists he had no input on the firing of general manager Mike Maccagnan and says he never asked team chairman and CEO Christopher Johnson to make a change.

Gase was conducting his first news conference Thursday since Maccagnan was fired by Johnson last Wednesday.

On Monday, Gase took one question about the situation from reporters at the team’s facility and said there was no power struggle between him and Maccagnan. Gase says Thursday that the two had some disagreements, but nothing unlike other NFL teams’ coaches and GMs.

One of the rumored sources of tension between the two was the Jets giving running back Le’Veon Bell a $52.5 million deal in free agency. Gase says New York did not overpay for Bell, he’s excited to have him and reports that the Jets could consider trading him are “ridiculous.”

(© Copyright 2019 CBS Broadcasting Inc. All Rights Reserved. The Associated Press contributed to this report.)

 

You might also like

July 1, 2020 Wednesday
June 30, 2020 Tuesday
June 26, 2020 Friday
June 25, 2020 Thursday
June 24, 2020 Wednesday
June 23, 2020 Tuesday
June 22, 2020 Monday
June 20, 2020 Saturday
June 19, 2020 Friday
June 18, 2020 Thursday
June 17, 2020 Wednesday
June 16, 2020 Tuesday
June 15, 2020 Monday
June 12, 2020 Friday
June 11, 2020 Thursday
June 10, 2020 Wednesday
June 9, 2020 Tuesday
June 8, 2020 Monday
June 6, 2020 Saturday
June 4, 2020 Thursday
Show More