Jets Free Agency: Running Back Crowell Released

The New York Jets have released running back Isaiah Crowell, an expected move after the team agreed to terms early Wednesday morning with Le'Veon Bell.


NEW YORK (CBSNewYork/AP) — The New York Jets have released running back Isaiah Crowell, an expected move after the team agreed to terms early Wednesday morning with Le’Veon Bell.

Crowell spent one season with the Jets after playing his first four in Cleveland. He broke the franchise record with 219 yards rushing on just 15 carries in New York’s win over Denver in Week 5. He also set the team mark with 231 yards from scrimmage.

The Jets had until Friday before $2 million of Crowell’s $4 million salary became guaranteed. By releasing him now, New York gains $3 million on the salary cap, but is stuck with $2 million in dead money.

The addition of Bell, a move not yet officially announced by the Jets, made Crowell expendable. The former Pittsburgh Steelers star agreed to a four-year deal worth $52.5 million, including $35 million in guarantees.

The 26-year-old Crowell finished with 685 yards rushing and six touchdowns last year before a toe injury ended his season in December.

Crowell made headlines in New York’s Week 3 loss at Cleveland last season when he scored a touchdown in the second quarter against his former team and wiped the football against his rear end. The crude celebration resulted in an unsportsmanlike conduct penalty and, later, a $13,369 fine from the NFL. It wasn’t all bad for Crowell, who received an endorsement deal with DUDE Wipes, a company that sells a toilet paper substitute for men.

New York also announced it has re-signed starting nose tackle Steve McLendon, who has spent the last three years with the team, as well as offensive lineman Jonotthan Harrison and defensive back Darryl Roberts.

(© Copyright 2019 CBS Broadcasting Inc. All Rights Reserved. The Associated Press contributed to this report.)

 

You might also like

August 17, 2019 Saturday
August 16, 2019 Friday
August 15, 2019 Thursday
August 14, 2019 Wednesday
August 13, 2019 Tuesday
August 12, 2019 Monday
August 11, 2019 Sunday
August 10, 2019 Saturday
August 9, 2019 Friday
August 8, 2019 Thursday
August 7, 2019 Wednesday
August 6, 2019 Tuesday
Show More