Jets' Darnold To Start Against Cowboys On Sunday

Jets quarterback Sam Darnold has been cleared by doctors to play this week after he missed three games while recovering from mononucleosis.


NEW YORK (CBSNewYork/AP)Jets quarterback Sam Darnold has been cleared by doctors to play this week after he missed three games while recovering from mononucleosis.

Darnold had medical tests Tuesday to determine if the swelling in his spleen — a common symptom of the illness — had dissipated enough for him to play again.

The Jets announced in a Twitter post that Darnold will start Sunday at home against Dallas.

The team was optimistic last week that Darnold would be able to play at Philadelphia and gave him first-team snaps last Wednesday and Thursday. Tests last Thursday night revealed Darnold was not yet able to be fully cleared, and Luke Falk started his second straight game for New York.

MOREEagles Sack Jets QBs 10 Times In 31-6 Destruction

Darnold was diagnosed with mono on Sept. 11, three days after the season-opening loss to Buffalo.

(© Copyright 2019 CBS Broadcasting Inc. All Rights Reserved. The Associated Press contributed to this report.)

 

You might also like

November 21, 2019 Thursday
November 20, 2019 Wednesday
November 19, 2019 Tuesday
November 18, 2019 Monday
November 17, 2019 Sunday
November 16, 2019 Saturday
November 15, 2019 Friday
November 14, 2019 Thursday
November 13, 2019 Wednesday
November 12, 2019 Tuesday
November 11, 2019 Monday
November 10, 2019 Sunday
November 9, 2019 Saturday
Show More