Jets, Adam Gase Fill Out New Coaching Staff

Adam Gase has filled out his staff, hiring Jim Bob Cooter as running backs coach, Shawn Jefferson as assistant head coach-offense/wide receivers, and Frank Bush as assistant head coach-defense/inside linebackers.


Cooter spent the last five seasons with Detroit, including the last four as offensive coordinator.

Jefferson, who had 470 catches during a 13-year playing career, was Gase’s wide receivers coach in Miami the last three years.

Bush was Miami’s assistant head coach/linebackers coach the past two seasons.

Among other hirings announced Friday are: Joe Vitt (senior defensive assistant/outside linebackers) — who’s also Gase’s father-in-law; Blake Williams (defensive assistant), son of defensive coordinator Gregg Williams; John Dunn (tight ends); Frank Pollack (offensive line); Derek Frazier (assistant offensive line); and Andre Carter (defensive line).

Dennard Wilson returns as the defensive backs coach and adds passing game coordinator to his duties.

(© Copyright 2019 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

 

You might also like

February 8, 2019 Friday
February 7, 2019 Thursday
February 6, 2019 Wednesday
January 14, 2019 Monday
January 4, 2019 Friday
September 26, 2018 Wednesday
August 9, 2018 Thursday
August 1, 2018 Wednesday
July 1, 2018 Sunday
June 30, 2018 Saturday
June 29, 2018 Friday
June 28, 2018 Thursday
June 27, 2018 Wednesday
June 26, 2018 Tuesday
Show More