Jackie Robinson Day Pop-Up Exhibit Opens In Manhattan

On April 15, 1947, Robinson broke the color barrier in baseball when he took the field for the Brooklyn Dodgers.


NEW YORK (CBSNewYork) – Major League Baseball celebrates Jackie Robinson Day today.

On April 15, 1947, Robinson broke the color barrier in baseball when he took the field for the Brooklyn Dodgers.

All MLB players will wear his iconic No. 42 during Monday’s games.

MORE: Brooklyn Commemorates What Would Have Been Legendary Jackie Robinson’s 100th Birthday

A special popup exhibit also opens today on Varick Street in Lower Manhattan, near the future site of the Jackie Robinson Museum.

The exhibit features never-before-seen artifacts and photos, which will be included in the museum when it opens its doors in December.

Last month, Robinson’s family was honored with keys to Brooklyn on what would have been his 100th birthday.

 

You might also like

October 23, 2019 Wednesday
October 22, 2019 Tuesday
October 21, 2019 Monday
October 20, 2019 Sunday
October 19, 2019 Saturday
October 18, 2019 Friday
October 17, 2019 Thursday
October 16, 2019 Wednesday
October 15, 2019 Tuesday
October 14, 2019 Monday
October 13, 2019 Sunday
October 12, 2019 Saturday
October 11, 2019 Friday
October 10, 2019 Thursday
October 9, 2019 Wednesday
Show More