It Can't Get Worse, Can It? Jets' Siemian Out For The Season

The Jets' unfathomable run of injuries got even worse on Tuesday as head coach Adam Gase announced backup quarterback Trevor Siemian will miss the rest of the season due to an ankle injury.


NEW YORK (CBSNewYork) — You can’t make it up.

The Jets‘ unfathomable run of injuries got even worse on Tuesday as head coach Adam Gase announced backup-turned-starting quarterback Trevor Siemian will miss the rest of the season due to a left ankle injury.

Gase said an MRI revealed ligament damage that will require surgery.

Siemian suffered the injury in the second quarter of the Jets’ 23-3 loss to Cleveland on Monday night at MetLife Stadium when he threw a long incomplete pass to Ryan Griffin and the Browns’ Myles Garrett slammed into him and fell on top of him — and was penalized for roughing the passer. Siemian was on crutches and in a walking boot after the game.

A four-year veteran, Siemian was installed as the starter after Sam Darnold was diagnosed with mononucleosis early last week. Darnold, the No. 3 overall selection in last year’s draft, could miss anywhere from three to seven weeks, according to reports.

Luke Falk, who was elevated from the practice squad to the active roster prior to Monday night’s game, made his NFL debut following Siemian’s injury and played fairly well, completing 20 of 25 passes for 198 yards and didn’t commit a turnover.

The Jets’ injury woes started during the preseason when they lost stud linebacker Avery Williamson for the season due to a knee injury. The situation got dire when star linebacker C.J. Mosley and rookie defensive lineman Quinnen Williams were knocked out of the season opener, a 17-16 loss to visiting Buffalo, with groin and ankle injuries, respectively. Also injured in that game was starting wide receiver Quincy Enunwa, who was later ruled out for the season with a neck injury.

Not long after that, Darnold’s diagnosis stunned everyone.

In addition to Siemian’s injury, veteran Demaryius Thomas, acquired from New England to soften the blow of losing Enunwa, was forced out of Monday night’s game due to a reaggravation of hamstring injury.

The Jets are expected to sign at least one quarterback in the next day or so to back up Falk.

Already 0-2 and in danger of having their season spiral out of control, the Jets’ schedule only gets more difficult. New York Plays at Super Bowl champion New England this Sunday, then has its bye, before playing the two best teams in the NFC East, at Philadelphia and home against Dallas, before taking on the Patriots again, on Oct. 21 in prime time at MetLife Stadium.

 

You might also like

June 4, 2020 Thursday
June 3, 2020 Wednesday
June 2, 2020 Tuesday
June 1, 2020 Monday
May 31, 2020 Sunday
May 29, 2020 Friday
May 28, 2020 Thursday
May 27, 2020 Wednesday
May 26, 2020 Tuesday
May 25, 2020 Monday
May 22, 2020 Friday
May 21, 2020 Thursday
May 20, 2020 Wednesday
May 18, 2020 Monday
May 17, 2020 Sunday
May 16, 2020 Saturday
May 15, 2020 Friday
May 14, 2020 Thursday
May 13, 2020 Wednesday
May 12, 2020 Tuesday
May 11, 2020 Monday
May 8, 2020 Friday
May 7, 2020 Thursday
May 6, 2020 Wednesday
May 5, 2020 Tuesday
May 4, 2020 Monday
May 1, 2020 Friday
April 29, 2020 Wednesday
April 28, 2020 Tuesday
Show More