Islanders' Boychuk Decides To Retire Due To Lingering Eye Injury

The Islanders on Wednesday announced Boychuk’s decision to end his 13-year NHL career after the player had numerous and extensive medical exams.


The Islanders on Wednesday announced Boychuk’s decision to end his 13-year NHL career after the player had numerous and extensive medical exams. The 36-year-old Boychuk required stitches and plastic surgery after being cut across his right eyelid by the skate of Montreal Canadiens forward Artturi Lehkonen on March 3.

It was the second injury to the same eye in Boychuk’s career.


January 18, 2021 Monday
January 17, 2021 Sunday
January 16, 2021 Saturday
January 15, 2021 Friday
January 14, 2021 Thursday
January 13, 2021 Wednesday
January 11, 2021 Monday
January 10, 2021 Sunday
January 9, 2021 Saturday
January 8, 2021 Friday
January 7, 2021 Thursday
January 6, 2021 Wednesday
January 4, 2021 Monday
January 3, 2021 Sunday
January 1, 2021 Friday
December 31, 2020 Thursday
December 30, 2020 Wednesday
December 29, 2020 Tuesday
December 27, 2020 Sunday
December 26, 2020 Saturday
December 23, 2020 Wednesday
December 22, 2020 Tuesday
Show More