Islanders Bolster Defense, Acquire Devils Captain Greene

The Islanders have addressed one of their glaring needs, more than a week before the NHL trade deadline.


NEW YORK (CBSNewYork) — The Islanders have addressed one of their glaring needs, more than a week before the NHL trade deadline.

New York’s usually staunch defense had not been the same since Adam Pelech, arguably the team’s best defenseman, suffered a season-ending Achilles injury on Jan. 2. General manager Lou Lamoriello filled that void on Sunday, acquiring veteran Andy Greene from the Devils for defense prospect David Quenneville and a 2021 second-round draft pick.

According to numerous reports, Greene waived his full no-trade clause to go to the Islanders.

Greene, 37, who will be an unrestricted free agent at season’s end, figures to log top-four minutes the rest of the way as the Islanders (33-18-6, 72 points) attempt to qualify for the playoffs for the second straight season. Heading into Sunday’s games, the Isles sat in third place in the highly competitive Metropolitan Division, but just three points ahead of ninth-place Carolina in the Eastern Conference.

Prior to the trade, Greene had played his entire 14-year NHL career with the Devils, serving as team captain for the last five seasons. In 923 games, he has 49 goals and 197 assists for 246 points. Greene played in all 24 games during New Jersey’s run to the Stanley Cup Final in 2012.

The move could be the first of a handful by Lamoriello before the Feb 24 deadline. The Islanders are currently 23rd in the NHL in goals scored and are coming off consecutive shutout losses to open their four-game road trip. New York is also missing veteran bottom-six forwards Cal Clutterbuck and Casey Cizikas due to injuries.

Greene is expected to play when the Islanders take on Arizona on Monday.

A lot was expected of the Devils (21-26-10, 52 points) heading into this season, but an extremely slow start doomed any chance they had of making the playoffs for just the second time in the last eight seasons. Head coach John Hynes was fired on Dec. 3 and general manager Ray Shero was let go on Jan. 12. In between, New Jersey traded its best player, former Hart Trophy winner Taylor Hall, to Arizona. Hall is expected to test free agency this summer.

 

You might also like

April 2, 2020 Thursday
April 1, 2020 Wednesday
March 29, 2020 Sunday
March 27, 2020 Friday
March 26, 2020 Thursday
March 25, 2020 Wednesday
March 24, 2020 Tuesday
March 23, 2020 Monday
March 22, 2020 Sunday
March 20, 2020 Friday
March 19, 2020 Thursday
March 18, 2020 Wednesday
March 17, 2020 Tuesday
March 16, 2020 Monday
March 15, 2020 Sunday
March 13, 2020 Friday
March 12, 2020 Thursday
March 11, 2020 Wednesday
March 10, 2020 Tuesday
March 9, 2020 Monday
March 8, 2020 Sunday
March 7, 2020 Saturday
Show More