Iona Gaels Coach Tim Cluess Steps Down

Native New Yorker and celebrated men's basketball head coach Tim Cluess announced he was stepping down from his position with the team to focus on making a full recovery after an undisclosed health scare.


NEW ROCHELLE, N.Y. (CBSNewYork) – Native New Yorker and celebrated men’s basketball head coach Tim Cluess announced he was stepping down from his position with the Iona Gaels to focus on making a full recovery after an undisclosed health scare.

The 61-year-old coach had led Iona to six NCAA Tournament appearances since 2012.

“On behalf of myself and my family, I want to thank Gael Nation, including every student-athlete I had the honor to coach, for all their ever-present and vocal support,” said Cluess. I am proud of what we’ve accomplished together and look forward to supporting the program in an advisory role.”

Cluess won at least 20 games in each of his first eight seasons and set records with five conference tournament championships.

 

You might also like

July 9, 2020 Thursday
July 7, 2020 Tuesday
July 4, 2020 Saturday
July 3, 2020 Friday
July 2, 2020 Thursday
July 1, 2020 Wednesday
June 30, 2020 Tuesday
June 26, 2020 Friday
June 25, 2020 Thursday
June 24, 2020 Wednesday
June 23, 2020 Tuesday
June 22, 2020 Monday
June 20, 2020 Saturday
June 19, 2020 Friday
June 18, 2020 Thursday
June 17, 2020 Wednesday
June 16, 2020 Tuesday
Show More