In The Ring: 17-Year-Old N.J. Boxer Ready For Pro Debut

Thanks to an exception in the rules, Vito Mielnicki Jr. is the first 17-year-old in New Jersey to make his professional boxing debut.


Vito Mielnicki Jr. is the first 17-year-old in the state to turn pro, reports CBSN New York’s Christina Fan.

He may be soft-spoken at the podium, nut the teenager is a knockout in the ring. He’s about to become the youngest fighter to make his professional debut in New Jersey history.

“It’s hard work, dedication in the gym all the time, every day,” said Mielnicki.

Mielnicki will be on the undercard of world-renown boxer Shakur Stevenson’s homecoming match.

Stevenson is an Olympic silver medalist.

The two fighters used to be amateur teammates in Newark.

“When I was down, he would help me get up,” Mielnicki. “When he was down I would help him get up.”

In New Jersey, the rules are fairly strict when it comes to turning pro, setting a minimum age of 18 years old.

Mielnicki’s coaches say it shows just how good he is to be granted an exception from the New Jersey Boxing Commission at 17-years-old.

“If you think about it, it’s like a big chess match in there,” said boxing manager David McWater. “This kid is very cerebral, he’s the whole package, he’s going to be great.”

Mielnicki says he doesn’t feel any extra pressure.

“It doesn’t really make me nervous at all, I’ve been doing it so long,” he said.

To him age is but a number.

 

You might also like

May 28, 2020 Thursday
May 27, 2020 Wednesday
May 26, 2020 Tuesday
May 25, 2020 Monday
May 22, 2020 Friday
May 21, 2020 Thursday
May 20, 2020 Wednesday
May 18, 2020 Monday
May 17, 2020 Sunday
May 16, 2020 Saturday
May 15, 2020 Friday
May 14, 2020 Thursday
May 13, 2020 Wednesday
May 12, 2020 Tuesday
May 11, 2020 Monday
May 8, 2020 Friday
May 7, 2020 Thursday
May 6, 2020 Wednesday
May 5, 2020 Tuesday
May 4, 2020 Monday
May 1, 2020 Friday
April 29, 2020 Wednesday
April 28, 2020 Tuesday
April 25, 2020 Saturday
April 24, 2020 Friday
April 23, 2020 Thursday
April 21, 2020 Tuesday
Show More