Heron Leads St. John’s Past Butler In Overtime Thriller

The road to the NCAA Tournament doesn't get any easier for them when they face conference powerhouse Villanova at home on Sunday.


Heron came through in the clutch, hitting 10-of-12 foul shots.

Marvin Clark II had 18 points for St. John’s (18-7). Shamorie Ponds added 14 points and seven rebounds. Justin Simon had seven rebounds for the hosts.

Kamar Baldwin had 16 points for the Bulldogs (14-11, 5-7). Paul Jorgensen added 15 points and nine rebounds. Henry Baddley had eight rebounds.

The Red Storm leveled the season series against the Bulldogs with the win. Butler defeated St. John’s 80-71 on Jan. 19.

St. John’s has had a disappointing trip through their conference schedule, going just 6-6 against the Big East. The road to the NCAA Tournament doesn’t get any easier for them when they face conference powerhouse Villanova at home on Sunday.

(© Copyright 2019 CBS Broadcasting Inc. All Rights Reserved. The Associated Press contributed to this report.)

 

You might also like

August 18, 2019 Sunday
August 17, 2019 Saturday
August 16, 2019 Friday
August 15, 2019 Thursday
August 14, 2019 Wednesday
August 13, 2019 Tuesday
August 12, 2019 Monday
August 11, 2019 Sunday
August 10, 2019 Saturday
August 9, 2019 Friday
August 8, 2019 Thursday
August 7, 2019 Wednesday
Show More