GM: Mets Moving In On Luis Rojas As Next Manager

The second time appears to be the charm for Luis Rojas.


NEW YORK (CBSNewYork) — The second time appears to be the charm for Luis Rojas.

General manager Brodie Van Wagenen told reporters on Wednesday the team is close to finalizing a multi-year deal with Rojas to be the Mets‘ next manager. The 38-year-old has managed at several minor league levels for the franchise.

Rojas initially interviewed for the opening not long after the Mets parted way with Mickey Callaway, but reportedly was not one of the club’s final four candidates — Carlos Beltran, Tim Bogar, Derek Shelton and Eduardo Perez.

The job ultimately went to Beltran, but he was let go due to his role in the Houston Astros’ 2017 sign-stealing scandal when he was still a player.

In targeting Rojas, the Mets, who are coming off an 86-76 season and have not made the playoffs since 2016, likely want someone who can step in at a moment’s notice with an understanding of the organization. Rojas has been with the Mets for 14 years, including the last two as the major league club’s quality control coach, and has worked extensively with many of New York’s top young players, including Amed Rosario, Pete Alonso, Jeff McNeil, Brandon Nimmo, Dom Smith, and Michael Conforto.

Pitchers and catchers are scheduled to report to the team’s spring training facility in Port St. Luice, Fla. on Feb. 10.

Rojas comes from baseball royalty. His father is former major league player and manager Felipe Alou and his brother is six-time All-Star outfielder Moises Alou.

 

You might also like

February 19, 2020 Wednesday
February 18, 2020 Tuesday
February 17, 2020 Monday
February 16, 2020 Sunday
February 15, 2020 Saturday
February 14, 2020 Friday
February 13, 2020 Thursday
February 12, 2020 Wednesday
February 11, 2020 Tuesday
February 10, 2020 Monday
February 9, 2020 Sunday
February 8, 2020 Saturday
February 7, 2020 Friday
February 6, 2020 Thursday
February 5, 2020 Wednesday
February 4, 2020 Tuesday
Show More