Giants QB Jones Has Ankle Sprain, Manning Likely To Start

Daniel Jones stood on the sideline at practice Wednesday wearing a boot on his right foot.


EAST RUTHERFORD, N.J (CBSNewYork/AP)New York Giants quarterback Daniel Jones was kept out of practice Wednesday with a high right ankle sprain, and coach Pat Shurmur says Eli Manning “very likely” will start Monday night against the Philadelphia Eagles.

Shurmur adds that Manning could very well be the starter for the rest of the season. The rookie Jones has been the starter since the third game of the season, which Giants won 32-31 at Tampa Bay. They beat Washington the next week and have lost eight straight games since. The first-round draft pick has completed 61% of his passes (228 of 370) for 2,374 yards and 18 touchdowns with 11 interceptions.

Jones stood on the sideline Wednesday wearing a boot on his right foot. Manning, the team’s starter since 2004, started for the first two games this season, completing 56 of 89 passes for 556 yards and two TDs with two interceptions.

(© Copyright 2019 CBS Broadcasting Inc. All Rights Reserved. The Associated Press contributed to this report.)

 

You might also like

December 5, 2019 Thursday
December 4, 2019 Wednesday
December 3, 2019 Tuesday
December 2, 2019 Monday
December 1, 2019 Sunday
November 30, 2019 Saturday
November 29, 2019 Friday
November 28, 2019 Thursday
November 27, 2019 Wednesday
November 26, 2019 Tuesday
November 25, 2019 Monday
November 24, 2019 Sunday
November 23, 2019 Saturday
Show More