Giants GM Dave Gettleman Explains Why He Wore Protective Mask During NFL Draft

The Giants general manager sparked some discussion by wearing an N-95 mask in his home during the Draft Thursday night. He did so with good reason.


(CBSNewYork)- The New York Giants selected Georgia tackle Andrew Thomas with their first round pick on Thursday night. While the selection was a bit of a surprise for some, the move made sense for a team looking to protect their franchise quarterback.

But the pick itself didn’t generate nearly as much discussion as an image that drove home, even on a night when the NFL was hoping to provide an escape from the coronavirus crisis, just how ever present the dangers of the virus are.

Giants general manager Dave Gettleman was seen wearing a protective mask in his home office during the draft and many wondered why. The 69-year-old explained the reasoning to ESPN.

“Well, I have a young IT fellow over here with me,” Gettleman said. “And we’re social distancing. Part of it is the mask. I’m fine.”

Gettleman was diagnosed with lymphoma two years ago and survived it going through multiple rounds of chemotherapy. As such, he is squarely in the demographic which has been affected the most by the virus during the pandemic.

While Gettleman says he is fine and feeling great, the extra precaution was a stark reminder of just how serious the current situation is.

 

You might also like

May 31, 2020 Sunday
May 29, 2020 Friday
May 28, 2020 Thursday
May 27, 2020 Wednesday
May 26, 2020 Tuesday
May 25, 2020 Monday
May 22, 2020 Friday
May 21, 2020 Thursday
May 20, 2020 Wednesday
May 18, 2020 Monday
May 17, 2020 Sunday
May 16, 2020 Saturday
May 15, 2020 Friday
May 14, 2020 Thursday
May 13, 2020 Wednesday
May 12, 2020 Tuesday
May 11, 2020 Monday
May 8, 2020 Friday
May 7, 2020 Thursday
May 6, 2020 Wednesday
May 5, 2020 Tuesday
May 4, 2020 Monday
May 1, 2020 Friday
April 29, 2020 Wednesday
April 28, 2020 Tuesday
April 25, 2020 Saturday
April 24, 2020 Friday
Show More