Giants Confirm Saquon Barkley Tore ACL, Out For The Season

An MRI taken at the Hospital for Special Surgery Monday confirmed that Barkley suffered a torn ACL in Sunday's game against the Chicago Bears.


“Barkley will undergo surgery to repair the injury in the near future,” said the team in a statement.

Barkley’s injury happened at the beginning of the second quarter in Sunday’s game as he was being tackled by Bears safety Eddie Jackson along the sideline. Barkley immediately took his helmet off on the ground in frustration and needed to be carted off the field.

The Giants went on to come up just short against the Bears, 17-13, in Barkley’s absence to fall to 0-2 on the season. With Barkley out of the lineup, Dion Lewis is likely to step into the starting role. Lewis had 10 carries for 20 yards and a touchdown to go with four catches for 36 yards on Sunday.

There are also reports that the Giants are looking at potentially bringing in former Atlanta Falcons running back Devonta Freeman to help replace some of Barkley’s production.

 

You might also like

Today
October 28, 2020 Wednesday
October 25, 2020 Sunday
October 24, 2020 Saturday
October 23, 2020 Friday
October 20, 2020 Tuesday
October 18, 2020 Sunday
October 15, 2020 Thursday
October 14, 2020 Wednesday
October 13, 2020 Tuesday
October 11, 2020 Sunday
October 10, 2020 Saturday
October 9, 2020 Friday
October 8, 2020 Thursday
October 7, 2020 Wednesday
October 6, 2020 Tuesday
October 4, 2020 Sunday
October 3, 2020 Saturday
October 2, 2020 Friday
October 1, 2020 Thursday
September 30, 2020 Wednesday
September 29, 2020 Tuesday
September 27, 2020 Sunday
September 26, 2020 Saturday
Show More