García 1st MLB Win, Yankees End 5-Game Skid, Top Blue Jays

The Yankees had lost 15 of 20 and fallen to the edge of the expanded playoff field.


The Yankees had lost 15 of 20 and fallen to the edge of the expanded playoff field. General manager Brian Cashman had made a rare road trip to talk to the team before Tuesday night’s loss.

Torres and DJ LeMahieu homered to back García (1-1). In his third career start, the 21-year-old righty gave up two runs and five hits in seven innings. He struck out six and walked two.

Zack Britton worked the eighth and Aroldis Chapman struck out all three batters in the ninth.

Derek Fisher hit a two-run homer in the second inning for Toronto, which had its three-game winning streak halted. Ross Stripling (3-3) took the loss.

Luke Voit hit an RBI single that put the Yankees ahead 3-2 in the fifth and Torres added a two-run double. That gave New York multiple hits with a runner in scoring position, a welcome relief after the Yankees had gone 2 for 32 in that situation during their five-game skid.

Torres led off the second inning with his fourth homer and LeMahieu led off the third with his fifth. Clint Frazier added an RBI single in the ninth.

Toronto starter Tanner Roark allowed two hits and three walks in four innings.

AND ON THE 28TH DAY …

The Blue Jays finished a stretch in which they played 28 times in 27 days, with the only day without a game being Aug. 27, when many games in MLB were postponed because of social protests.

Toronto went 18-10 during that stretch, impressing manager Charlie Montoyo.

“Other teams would just take a day or night off. It’s just too much, too many games,” Montoyo said. “This team hasn’t taken a day off. They go hard every game. I’m impressed by it, and I’m proud of the way they play every day. They don’t give up.”

The Yankees have four games left in their own gauntlet, in which they will have played 20 games in 17 days before an off day on Sept. 14.

TRAINER’S ROOM

Yankees: OFs Aaron Judge (strained calf) and Giancarlo Stanton (strained hamstring) both continued their running routines during workouts and manager Aaron Boone described both as “getting closer” to being re-activated. … Boone also said he expects LHP James Paxton (left flexor strain) to be activated before the end of the regular season.

Blue Jays: 1B Rowdy Tellez (knee strain) was placed on the IL after taking an awkward step while chasing a foul ball in Wednesday’s game. … SS Bo Bichette (sprained right knee) played another intrasquad game Wednesday at Toronto’s alternate training site. … Montoyo said RHP Nate Pearson (elbow tightness) is closer to being activated and will work out of the bullpen upon returning.

UP NEXT

New York: RHP Gerrit Cole (4-3, 3.63 ERA) will start Thursday against Baltimore LHP Keegan Akin (0-0, 2.08) in the opener of the Yankees’ four-game weekend series against the Orioles.

Blue Jays: After an off-day, Toronto will start a three-game series on Friday against the New York Mets in Buffalo with RHP Chase Anderson (0-0, 4.94 ERA) taking on RHP Jacob deGrom (3-1, 1.69).

You can get the latest news, sports and weather on our brand new CBS New York app. Download here.

(© Copyright 2020 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

 

You might also like

Today
October 18, 2020 Sunday
October 15, 2020 Thursday
October 14, 2020 Wednesday
October 13, 2020 Tuesday
October 11, 2020 Sunday
October 10, 2020 Saturday
October 9, 2020 Friday
October 8, 2020 Thursday
October 7, 2020 Wednesday
October 6, 2020 Tuesday
October 4, 2020 Sunday
October 3, 2020 Saturday
October 2, 2020 Friday
October 1, 2020 Thursday
September 30, 2020 Wednesday
September 29, 2020 Tuesday
September 27, 2020 Sunday
September 26, 2020 Saturday
September 25, 2020 Friday
September 24, 2020 Thursday
Show More