Former Met Wally Backman Arrested In Alleged Domestic Incident

Police say Backman has been charged with harassment and criminal mischief.


RIVERHEAD, N.Y. (CBSNewYork) — Former Met Wally Backman was arrested Friday morning on Long Island.

Officers were sent to a home in Riverhead around 7:45 a.m. for a report of an alleged domestic dispute involving a female subject and Backman, 59.

Backman was arrested and taken to the Riverhead Police Department.

Police say Backman has been charged with harassment and criminal mischief.

Backman played with the New York Mets from 1980-88 and is currently the manager of the Long Island Ducks.

 

You might also like

February 18, 2020 Tuesday
February 17, 2020 Monday
February 16, 2020 Sunday
February 15, 2020 Saturday
February 14, 2020 Friday
February 13, 2020 Thursday
February 12, 2020 Wednesday
February 11, 2020 Tuesday
February 10, 2020 Monday
February 9, 2020 Sunday
February 8, 2020 Saturday
February 7, 2020 Friday
February 6, 2020 Thursday
February 5, 2020 Wednesday
February 4, 2020 Tuesday
Show More